Home What we do What's next


The appalling circumstances that the street children live in convinced us to undertake action in Cambodia and later to found the association. Our support and our ability to help people to help themselves should not be limited to just these children, however. In the future we would like to make safe, secure space available to other groups in need (e.g. mentally or physically disabled persons). The individual projects that we summarize here demonstrate our activities in and beyond the village itself.




Learning in the village

We want to support the children entrusted to us in the development of their talents and inclinations. When they leave the village as adults, they should have the skills and abilities they need to shape their own lives. For this reason, we offer numerous other activities in addition to a standard education:

These activities include lessons in English. Our volunteers not only support our Cambodian teachers, but also offer the children and young adults the opportunity to meet people from other cultural and social circles (all of the care-givers and employees in the village are local residents).

In their education, it is very important to us that the children acquire practical skills. They achieve this goal in computer courses, for example, or by helping with domestic chores or maintaining the garden, or working in our sewing or pottery shops, in the bicycle repair shop or in the village library.  

Athletic and cultural activities complete the educational picture. And here it is especially important to us that the children (re)discover their own culture along with its Buddhist influences. For this reason, the village includes a space for meditation, and we also offer lessons in classical Cambodian dance and music which the children enjoy very much.

 
Kindergarten

Our kindergartners do what children between the age of 3 and 6 years do in kindergartens all over the world. They play and discover new things every day, develop social skills, and are gently prepared for the slightly more academic life once they start elementary school.

Home Was wir tun Wie es weitergeht

Es waren die erschreckenden Lebensumstände der Straßenkinder, die zu unserem Engagement in Kambodscha und schließlich zur Vereinsgründung führten. Unsere Unterstützung und Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe soll sich aber nicht nur auf diese Kinder konzentrieren und beschränken. Wir wollen im Dorf künftig auch anderen bedürftigen Gruppen (z.B. geistig oder körperlich Behinderten) einen geschützten Raum zur Verfügung stellen. In einzelnen Projekten, die wir Ihnen an dieser Stelle vorstellen, sind wir auch über die Dorfgrenzen hinaus aktiv.


 



Lernen im Dorf

Wir wollen die uns anvertrauten Kinder entsprechend ihren Talenten und Neigungen fördern. Wenn sie das Dorf als Erwachsene verlassen, sollen Sie Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten besitzen, ihr Leben selbst zu gestalten. Deshalb bieten wir neben dem "normalen" Schulbesuch zahlreiche weitere Aktivitäten an:

Dazu zählt unter anderem der Englisch-Unterricht der von einem kambodschanischen Englischlehrer erteilt wird. Tatkräftige Unterstützung erfährt dieser von unseren Voluntären. Diese bieten den Kindern und Jugendlichen auch die Gelegenheit, Menschen aus andereren Kulturkreisen kennen zu lernen (alle Betreuer und Angestellten im Dorf sind Einheimische).

Großen Wert legen wir bei der Ausbildung darauf, dass die Kinder sich praktische Kenntnisse aneignen. Dies tun sie u.a. in Computerkursen, bei der Mitarbeit in der Hauswirtschaft und der Pflege der Gärten, in unserer Näherei und Töpferei, in der Fahrradreparaturwerkstatt und der Dorf-Bücherei.

Sportliche und kulturelle Aktivitäten runden das Bild ab. Dabei liegt uns besonders am Herzen, dass die Kinder ihre eigene, buddhistisch geprägte Kultur (wieder)entdecken. Deshalb gibt es im Dorf einen Meditationsraum und zur Freude der Kinder bieten wir auch Unterricht in klassischem kambodschanischen Tanz sowie Musik an.

 
Kindergarten

Im Kindergarten des Dorfs geht es zu wie in allen Kindergärten.

Spielerisch und altersgerecht entdecken die 3-6 Jährigen die Welt. Sie erwerben soziale Kompetenzen und lernen im angemessenen Maße Verantwortung zu tragen. In der Vorschule geht es mit Spass um erste Schritte der schulischen Entwicklung.